When was your first?

fullsizeoutput_2561

When was the first time you experienced something unexplainable from the “other side”? Was it a vivid dream? Was it a voice from beyond? Was it a touch from a loved one? Or was it a silhouette of a person long gone from this world?

For me, it began with my grandmother. From an early age, she told me stories of ghosts, voices, visions and a world beyond. My dad and his siblings told me stories of a haunted past in the hills of Kentucky. For me, I think my family has passed down the ability to be in touch with spirits — and each of us in a different form.

I think my grandmother shaped me to be wary but not scared of that that cannot be explained, but to embrace it. She showed me it was okay to see the dead and listen. But, as I grew older, I found my own way. First, it was avoidance. Then medication to stop the visions, voices, etc. Then, I learned how to turn it off and on and to never make eye contact with a spirit unless I wanted to move forward with their wishes. Now, I’ve just learned to accept my ability and keep most of my experiences to myself.

But, the after years of “my training” with my grandmother, my grandfather passed away. That’s when it all happened to me. I was the apple of my grandfather’s eye and even though I was really little at the time of his passing, I remember his funeral like yesterday.

fullsizeoutput_2550

My grandfather passed away very unexpected. I remember my family standing around crying and trying to console my grandmother. But, for me, I couldn’t understand what the fuss was about, because grandpa was right there. He was holding my hand and taking me to see him laying in the casket. We sat and talked until my mom came to get me and told me to entertain my sisters. I tried to tell her that they had made a mistake, “grandpa’s right there,” I told her. She pulled my arm and told me to stop talking such nonsense.

During the ceremony, I sat next to my grandma, holding her hand. The preacher was talking about salvation and Heaven. All of a sudden, I saw my grandpa walk through a wall and stand by the preacher. I must have had a surprised look on my face and I was probably getting ready to run to him because my grandma pushed my little legs down and whispered in my ear, “Yes, he’s here baby girl, but you and I are the only ones that can see him. Keep this secret so you don’t upset your daddy.” I did as she said.

The years that followed, my ability grew and grew. But, I kept it secret for a long time. I did try to tell my parents at one time, but they told me that people would think I was crazy and send me away – which may have happened in the early 80’s. But, now, it’s easier for people to embrace the idea of the paranormal.

So, tell us your experience! We would love to hear.

 

Leave a comment